Background Buzz – the Award Winners of the HSBC World Rugby 7s Series 2023 – 21 May 2023



Okay sports fans, on “Background Buzz” today I take a closer look at the Award Winners of the HSBC World Rugby 7s Series 2023, where New Zealand won their 14th Series title, Australia secured the final Olympic Games 2024 automatic qualification spot and Canada qualified for the HSBC World Rugby 7s Series 2024 as the 12th and final core team.

Aside from the Capgemini Hotstepper Award, where the nominees were voted by fans on social media, the outstanding performers of the 2023 Series, selected by the World Rugby 7s Series Awards panel, comprising former international 7s players and Series commentators are as follows:

Rookie of the Year: Ricardo Duarttee (South Africa)

Duarttee made his Series debut for South Africa 7s in Dubai 2023, winning a cup final in his inaugural event.

The 25-year-old played in 52 games this season, scoring 15 tries, 67 conversions and one penalty for an incredible 212 points in his debut season.

Gilbert Top Try-scorer: Va’a Apelu Maliko (Samoa)

Maliko scored an incredible 50 tries across the 11 HSBC World Rugby 7s Series 2023, averaging 4.06 points per game in 62 games this season, finishing the Series with 252 points.

Try of the Series: Rodrigo Isgro Argentina v Samoa in Los Angeles

For his try against Samoa in Los Angeles. Isgro also played a key role in Los Pumas 7s winning tournaments in Hamilton, Vancouver and London, finishing a best-ever second place on the 2023 Series.

DHL Impact Player: Va’a Apelu Maliko (Samoa)

For 41 breaks, 122 tackles, 55 offloads and 214 carries throughout the 11 tournaments.

Fair Play Award: Japan

This Award is selected by the Match Officials and recognises Japan for showcasing rugby’s values of integrity, passion, solidarity, discipline and respect.

Reminds me of the Fiji Rugby Union.

HSBC Dream Team 2023

Rodrigo Isgro (Argentina), Leroy Carter (New Zealand), Marcos Moneta (Argentina), Akuila Rokolisoa (New Zealand), Vaa Apelu Maliko (Samoa), Luciano Gonzalez (Argentina) and Henry Paterson (Australia)

Capgemini #Hotstepper Award: Akuila Rokolisoa and Roderick Solo (New Zealand)

This Award recognises the most exceptional one-on-one steppers throughout the entire HSBC World Rugby 7s Series 2023.

For I’m Culden Kamea – Mahalo, vinaka and thank you. Please hit the subscribe button below if you would like to receive more Pasifika sports highlights on Breakfast Bites. And tank you all too mas for all your love and support.  

Mahalo, vina’a and tank you all too mass for all your love and support.

1 thought on “Background Buzz – the Award Winners of the HSBC World Rugby 7s Series 2023 – 21 May 2023”

Comments are closed.

Scroll to Top